89,008 exclusive articles and counting...


Shariah

« Back to Glossary Index

English: Islamic jurisprudence

Alternate spelling: Sharia, Shari’a, Shari’ah, Syariah, Syaria, Syari’ah, Syari’a

Definition: Islamic cannon law derived from three sources: the Quran, the Hadith and the Sunnah

A “Shariah compliant” product meets the requirements of Islamic law.

A “Shariah board” is the committee of Islamic scholars available to an Islamic financial institution for guidance and supervision in the development of Shariah compliant products.

A “Shariah advisor is an independent Islamic trained scholar that advises Islamic institutions on the compliance of the products and services with the Islamic law.

« Back to Glossary Index

News related to Shariah (27,465)

Colombo Stock Exchange officially introduces Shariah compliant debt securities

Tuesday, 20 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue08

Reports

New tangibility ratio requirements by AAOIFI’s Shariah Standard No 59 toward structuring global senior hybrid Sukuk: Implications and solutions — Part 3

Tuesday, 20 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue08

Special Reports

New Sukuk issuance platform in Saudi Arabia announces Shariah compliance

Thursday, 15 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue08

Reports

Carbon markets: Challenges, opportunities and Shariah compliance

Tuesday, 13 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue07

Special Reports

Saudi real estate investment platform secures Shariah compliant certification

Thursday, 08 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue07

Reports

UCA receives Shariah certification

Wednesday, 07 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue07

Takaful

Chimera’s transactions receive Shariah certification

Wednesday, 07 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue07

Asset Management

The UK government finally reconsiders Shariah compliant real estate refinancing

Tuesday, 06 Feb 2024 | Volume21.Issue06

Columns

Shariah council of Malaysian central bank rules Buy Now Pay Later facility permissible

Thursday, 25 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue05

Reports

Maybank launches Shariah compliant portfolio financing

Wednesday, 24 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue05

Asset Management

SBP mandates AAOIFI Shariah standards adoption

Tuesday, 23 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue04

News Briefs

Saudi subsidiary of Hong Kong brokerage firm unveils Shariah compliant trading platform

Wednesday, 17 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue04

Reports

New tangibility ratio requirements by AAOIFI’s Shariah Standard No 59 toward structuring global senior hybrid Sukuk: Implications and solutions — Part 2

Tuesday, 16 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue03

Special Reports

IDX to increase Shariah capital market investors

Tuesday, 16 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue03

News Briefs

Sahara Bank becomes Shariah compliant

Wednesday, 10 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue03

News Briefs

Pakistani fintech company aims to establish debt program and secure Shariah certification in 2024

Tuesday, 09 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue02

Reports

Shariah compliant crowdfunding and SME financing

Tuesday, 09 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue02

Features

Lunate launches Shariah compliant ETF

Tuesday, 09 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue02

Asset Management

Bank Sinarmas spins off Shariah unit

Thursday, 04 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue02

News Briefs

Shariah compliant equity investing: A UK perspective

Tuesday, 02 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue01

Columns

Asri‘s shares secures Shariah certification

Tuesday, 02 Jan 2024 | Volume21.Issue01

News Briefs

RAAM re-designated as Shariah compliant

Tuesday, 19 Dec 2023 | Volume21.Issue01

Asset Management

BARMM’s Shariah board holds first meeting

Friday, 15 Dec 2023 | Volume21.Issue01

News Briefs

Bursa Malaysia updates Shariah index

Friday, 15 Dec 2023 | Volume21.Issue01

News Briefs

Tackling the talent gap on the Shariah scholar side

Monday, 11 Dec 2023 | Volume20.Issue50

Correspondent Reports

Maqasid Al-Shariah Guidance: Excerpt 3

Wednesday, 06 Dec 2023 | Volume20.Issue50

Special Reports

Transforming to a Shariah compliant banking system: SBP Vision 2028

Wednesday, 06 Dec 2023 | Volume20.Issue50

Correspondent Reports

Some thoughts on Shariah compliant equity investing

Tuesday, 05 Dec 2023 | Volume20.Issue49

Columns

New tangibility ratio requirements by AAOIFI’s Shariah Standard No 59 (Part 1)

Tuesday, 05 Dec 2023 | Volume20.Issue49

Special Reports

Maja Agung’s shares confirmed Shariah compliant

Tuesday, 05 Dec 2023 | Volume20.Issue49

News Briefs

Shariah ‘risk’

Tuesday, 28 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue48

Columns

OJK releases Shariah securities list

Tuesday, 28 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue48

News Briefs

OJK issues Shariah banking roadmap

Tuesday, 28 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue48

News Briefs

Launch of SC’s Maqasid Al-Shariah Guidance to boost and strengthen Malaysia’s Islamic capital market

Wednesday, 22 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue48

Correspondent Reports

CBK’s fifth Shariah auditor certification program

Tuesday, 21 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue47

News Briefs

AIX lists Shariah compliant tokens

Monday, 20 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue47

News Briefs

Maqasid Al-Shariah Guidance: Excerpt 2

Wednesday, 15 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue47

Special Reports

Maqasid Al-Shariah Guidance: Excerpt 1

Tuesday, 14 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue46

Special Reports

Egypt’s envisioned Shariah compliant index

Tuesday, 14 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue46

Correspondent Reports

AAOIFI’s Shariah Board offers clarity on Sukuk instruments with landmark draft standard

Thursday, 09 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue46

Reports

Shares of Ikapharmindo receive Shariah certification

Monday, 06 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue45

News Briefs

SC launches Maqasid Shariah guidance

Friday, 03 Nov 2023 | Volume20.Issue45

News Briefs

Investment incoming: Shariah compliant real estate finance in demand, ahead of predicted increase in GCC appetite

Tuesday, 31 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue44

Features

Shariah mentorship program in Malaysia

Tuesday, 31 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue44

News Briefs

New faith-based wealth management firm enters Shariah compliant US market

Monday, 30 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue44

Reports

Agro Bahari receives Shariah certification

Thursday, 26 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue44

News Briefs

Trading and brokerage: Democratizing trading of Shariah instruments

Tuesday, 24 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue43

Analyses

Russia expands Shariah compliant activities

Tuesday, 24 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue43

Correspondent Reports

21Shares receives Shariah approval for ETPs

Monday, 23 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue43

News Briefs

Nigeria: Shariah as a business driver in the Islamic financial ecosystem

Tuesday, 17 Oct 2023 | Volume20.Issue42

Features